Anniversary!

happy-anniversary-balloon-1

It was a short year ago that I started this blog with the goal of simplifying my life, getting an RV, and living a nomadic lifestyle!  I had no idea how it was going to happen but I knew that I had to take the first step.  Writing was that first step.  I want to THANK YOU, my readers for supporting my blog and giving me the focus I needed to start my journey!

Wichita MountainsWichita Mountains of Oklahoma

I’m writing you from Oklahoma (thus far, my favorite state) and it is BEAUTIFUL here!  This summer has been (and continues to be) a life changing experience.  Though, I have been enjoying my freedom and cultural excursions, it hasn’t been without it’s challenges.   Also, I’m terribly behind on my writing.  I quickly realized that distraction can be one of the perils of Gypsy Life!  Time to settle down a bit and get back to work.   Perhaps, I need a boss… a boss like this!

13 thoughts on “Anniversary!

  1. Well congratulations girl! I’ve been wondering where you’ve been. Video isn’t available to mobile (cell phone) users, so I’ll have to check it later. But again, congrats for figuring out this lifestyle!

  2. Congratulations on your one year anniversary, you now have the hardest part behind you. Well over half the people who set out to live on the road ever make it for that first year. BTW, did you drive to the top of Mt. Scott? Bicyclists like to ride to the top and then turn it loose and let it runthat half quarter mile at the bottom. If you tuck it in and have the guts, you can hit well over 40mph. The only thing there is a 15mph speed limit which is enforced by the US Park rangers who usually hide behind a bush right at the bottom with their radar gun. There are mixed feelings whether the bragging rights of having received a speeding ticket on a bicycle is worth the $90 fine. Jim Foreman

    • Howdy, Jim! I’m passing on driving up any mountain! I just don’t want to risk anything going wrong with the mechanics of my rig. Had a steady string of repairs/replacements since July and I’m not pushing it! lol

  3. Hi Mocha Gypsy (love the name by the way) good for you on all your decisions, It is your life live it the way you want and what will make you truly happy and have perfect self expression !!!

  4. Mocha, I just watched your night parking video. I have a couple concerns. I heard the van make a noise when you opened the door. That means you left your keys in the ignition. I care about your safety. Your keys should be with you or quick reach. If it has a “panic” button on the key pad you could activate it if necessary. Also, leaving window open is a concern. We have lived in our motorhome for 7 years and we park at Walmart too sometimes. In fact the only break-in we had was at a campground! Another tip, when you leave the van to go to the store, when you open the door, holler back to “Harry” that you’ll be back soon. That way if someone is watching, they’ll think someone is with you.

    • Hi, Sandy! Thanks for your concern; you brought up some key points. Though I’m laid back, I do have some lines of security in place. I’m always aware of my surroundings entering and leaving my van. At night, I make it a habit to keep the key in the ignition in case I have to suddenly leave. Eunice has a sensitive alarm system that goes off if anyone gets too close. Also, there are a few other security measures I’ve taken (both lethal and nonlethal), but wouldn’t want to publicly warn any bad guys out there. 😉

  5. Gypsy Lee:
    Hi! Time just flies bye when you’re having fun, doesn’t it? One whole year — any regrets? When you talked about the beauty of Oklahoma, visual images of it popped into my head. I was on my way to the Grand Canyon in April of 2012, and wrote this while going through Oklahoma: “Woke up at 8:45 and immediately hit the road. Traveling through Oklahoma, especially the western part, seems closer to heaven — it’s the sky. I felt it yesterday and it feels like that today.” Yes, Oklahoma surprised me with it beauty.

    • Hi Gypsy, Time does fly… and it means I’m having fun! Oklahoma is beautiful, inside and out… the people are the best! 🙂

  6. Hello MG. I am so proud of you and admire you for following your dreams. I’m always waiting for your new posts. Right now I just part-time “meander” but I enjoy that! Keep doing what you do and stay safe in your travels!

  7. Hi,

    I just found your blog from your YT videos and have read all your posts. Congrats on your one year on the road and having the guts to get out there and follow your dreams!

    Tina

Leave a Reply

